When in Rome?

What’s that phrase again? “When in Rome, do as the Romans do.”

Well, I’m not in Rome, I’m on Guam, but I’m doing as the Guamanians do!

Today, I went to the Inalahan Street Market in Historical Inarajan.

The market/festival was fantastic! There were so many cultural vendors there. Some were there to sell their goods, and others were there to pass on lessons in traditional practices. Of course, me being me, I had to sit down at the vendor’s table who was teaching grass weaving. They told me to pick one of the samples and they would teach me how to make it. So, I picked this really cool star shape inside of a heart.

10516607_10152213647910718_9070800055670662793_n

Traditional grass weaving

Me with my awesome teacher, Dominic!

Me with my awesome teacher, Dominic!

I won’t say it was the easiest thing I’ve ever done. Dominic, the guy teaching me, had to help quite a bit. But, I think I got the hang of it! I was pretty proud of my weaving!

Also at the street fair, the bakery that the event was behind was open and selling pizzas made in the traditional oven. I usually like my crust extra crispy, but the pizza was wonderful! And, it was pretty cool because I got to stand in the kitchen area and watch them cook a couple of them for a few minutes. The oven was definitely pretty neat.

Hotnu Bakery; Pizza in a traditional Chamorro oven

Hotnu Bakery; Pizza in a traditional Chamorro oven

One of my favorite things since I’ve been living here has been to watch the traditional dancers perform. The final performance at the street festival today was by Taotao Lagu. They recently won a competition they participated in, and really, they are awesome!

Here, see for yourself!

Anyways, here’s the way I see it … if you aren’t going to embrace the culture of wherever you are, you’re going to miss out on a lot of really awesome things.

I’m totally embracing and loving the different things Guam has to offer. I’ll be a true islander in no time! 🙂

Tonight’s dinner: Kelaguen that I picked up at at the street market today! 🙂

10569119_10152213905515718_393966256_n

So, get out there and start enjoying the things around you! I can almost guarantee that you’ll find something new! I know I am.

Until next time, have a wonderful week!

 

Leave a comment