Malorie makes it Monday: Week 1

10476358_10152229085260718_6203549441713453188_n

I took a screen shot from the video I made, sorry for the terrible quality. Somehow, I forgot to take an actual picture.

So, everyone knows how much I love to cook, and if you didn’t … well, I guess you do now.

I decided to start a new a weekly installment on Mondays. I’ll be cooking dinner from scratch, and I’ll post a quick guide for you to make the same.

People are always asking me for my recipes and such … so, I thought why not!

This week, it’s Spicy Spaghetti Squash with Black Beans.

It’s totally vegan and vegetarian friendly! (Side note: that line was in there before you asked me about it, Jonathan!) It’s low carb and totally delicious too.

If you love good food, you’ll love this! And, I promise you will forget it’s “healthy” because it tastes amazing!

Spaghetti squash is such an amazing vegetable. It is the best replacement for pasta ever. Honestly, if you’ve never tried it … do it! That’s an order!

In under 40 seconds, I will show you how to make this week’s meal.

(Warning: you can’t actually make this in 40 seconds. It takes about an hour.)

If you want to make this meal: here’s what you need.

Ingredients:

1 medium Spaghetti squash

1 red onion

1 jalapeño pepper (can use all or part, depending on how spicy you want it)

1 red bell pepper

1 cup of whole kernel corn (frozen, fresh or can)

1 can of black beans 

a little bit of crushed red pepper (depends on how much you want to put on it)

1 lime

(You can add salt if you want, I choose not to. I like to use a little extra red pepper)

To make:

Cut the spaghetti squash in half, take out the seeds and center part with a fork. Place it cut side down on a baking pan, and bake for about 45-50 minutes on 375°. After you get it in the oven, wait about 10 minutes and start cutting up the onion, bell pepper and jalapeño. (You don’t have to wait, but it doesn’t take me long to do this … so I don’t want to have it sit on the stove while I’m waiting for the spaghetti squash.) Place the onion, bell pepper, and jalapeño in a pan and cook on the stove for about 10-15 minutes. Then, add the black beans and corn. Cook for another 10-15 minutes, then add the crushed red pepper and squeeze the lime over the contents of the pan.

You may finish this part before the spaghetti squash is finished, just set it to the side until the spaghetti squash is finished. Using an pot holder, take the spaghetti squash out of the oven. Grab a fork and loosen the “spaghetti.” Scoop halves it out into the pan, and stir it together.

Place it back in your spaghetti squash bowl, and serve! I like to sprinkle red pepper on top and squeeze a little more lime.

This will easily feed four people. Or, if you’re cooking for one like me, you can have leftovers for a couple of days.

Additional information: this recipe goes amazingly well with a white wine. I tried Day Trippers with it, which is an Australian white, and I highly recommend you try that!

If you decide to make this, let me know how it turns out for you. Tweet me … @maloriepaine or let me hear about it on Facebook! Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Malorie makes it Monday: Week 1

    • I would consider it, but I’m not a Guam native. There are some many wonderful Chamorro dishes, that someone else would be a much better fit for this. Thank you for asking though. I will pass along the information to some of my friends though!

Leave a Reply

